Go Back

Gluten-Free Brownies with Soy Sauce or Tamari

A batch of gluten-free brownies with soy sauce or tamari cut into 16 squares on a piece of parchment.
This brownie is gluten free, by way of nutty almond meal and a gluten-free soy sauce. There are many different gluten-free soy sauces on the market and they all work well in this recipe. The taste very much resembles salted caramel.
Hetty McKinnon

Prep 15 mins
Cook 30 mins
Total 2 hrs 45 mins
Dessert
Asian
16 brownies
175 kcal

Ingredients 

  • 1 stick (4 oz) unsalted butter plus more for the pan
  • 1 cup semisweet or dark chocolate chopped into bits, or use chocolate chips
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 to 4 teaspoons tamari or gluten-free soy sauce (or substitute 1 1/2 tablespoons Vegemite)*

Directions 

  • Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C). Coat a 9-inch (23 cm) square baking pan with butter and line with parchment paper.
  • To a large glass bowl that is completely dry and clean, add the butter and chocolate and set over a saucepan of simmering water (do not let the base of the bowl touch the water). Let the chocolate and butter melt, stirring occasionally, 5 to 10 minutes. Whisk until smooth. Remove from the heat and allow to cool for 5 minutes.
  • In another bowl, whisk together the almond meal, cocoa powder, and baking powder.
  • In a third bowl, whisk together the eggs, brown sugar, vanilla extract, and soy sauce.
  • Slowly whisk the egg mixture into the cooled chocolate mixture until well combined. Fold in the dry ingredients.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake until set and the internal temperature is between 165°F and 210°F (74°C and 99°C), 25 to 30 minutes. The higher the temperature, the cakier your brownies will be.
  • Remove and allow to cool completely in the pan, about 1 hour, then stash in the refrigerator to chill for 1 hour more.

    TESTER TIP:

    The brownies will continue to firm up in the refrigerator, so if you can resist temptation and let them chill overnight, they'll be firm and easy to cut.
  • Cut into 16 pieces. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 1 week.

Notes

*What is tamari sauce?

Tamari is a type of soy sauce, both being the by-product of miso production. Whereas soy sauce contains gluten, tamari is made with little to no wheat. It also has a darker color and a richer flavor than most soy sauces, as well as being less salty. Tamari tends to have a more balanced flavor that makes it a better choice for dipping or using in dressings. If you're avoiding gluten, make sure to read the label—not all tamari is purely gluten-free.